Skip to content

Escapee Speaks: Creating for You

October 27, 2009

Take a cue from Holly DeWolf in Episode 10 of the EFII Podcast, and make some time to create for yourself, for the sake of creating.

As Illustrators, we often spend so much time working to help our clients realize their visions and taking care of the business side of our freelance career that we neglect our own needs as creative spirits.

Making your own personal art a priority will refresh you and remind you why you chose to follow the path of Illustration in the first place.

Escapee has spoken.

I invite you to share your experiences with this practice in the comments below.

Related Post:

Try to Hate Your Work in the Future

Try to Love Your Work in the Future

Read More Escapee Speaks Creativity

Stay up to date with the Tutorial of the Week series and other Illustration goodies via email or RSS.

Bookmark and Share

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2009 10:26 PM

    I create fiber art to get away from my illustration. What I love about it is that it’s very tactile. The many fabrics, fibers, and beads are very yummy and inspiring. It also can be very portable. I primarily work digitally, so getting back to making something by hand can be very meditative. I also walk my dog, getting outside is a must. Not only for the fresh air, exercise, and filling up the 5 senses, but sometimes (especially after a big project) it’s refreshing to see the community busy and remind myself that life really does go on outside of my studio.

  2. December 3, 2009 5:51 PM

    by the time i’m done jumping thru client hoops-
    the last thing i want to do is draw or paint more….

    or is it?

    welp, i turned that attitude around and have an art gallery group show tomorrow night!
    yea! art for art’s sake!

    I’m free-
    thx for your viewpoint- here’s a one of my blogs:

    http://www.intent.com/reneezelnick/blog/five-commandments-creative-process-business-relations

  3. January 26, 2010 8:59 AM

    My own projects are all I’ve ever worked on, aside from some commissioned stained glass and a painting or two. Working in a field void of creative expression may be why my work is so intense. All day long I yearn to be at my MAC bringing the vision to life. I feel that I’m wasting time, but in reality I’m not. As the non creative, “bring home the bacon” side of my psyche labors away at the day job, the creative side is plowing through ideas, finding inspiration from the mundane. My pocket is never with out sketch book or something to catch that fleeting wave of inspiration. One of my best pieces was caught on the back of an availability sheet I order from while in the john. (T.M.I. sorry,) So in that dichotomy there is much synergy.

    I’m afraid I would starve if I tried to freelance. Not that I’m not willing to try, but I’m really not sure how I would corral my own projects to devote time to the ideas of others. A perfect world would be freedom to bring our personal visions to life without fear of poverty.

Leave a Reply

