Skip to content

Escapee Speaks: How To Do Anything You Want

October 29, 2009
by

Do you want to know how people become Illustrators and Musicians and other professions that many people dream of becoming?

They do it.

What does this mean?

This means that the only difference between those aspiring to be something and those actually acting out those desires is a declaration made in their hearts and acted upon.  In other words, if you want to achieve a certain goal, you must decide once and for all that you are going to do it and not take “No” for an answer.  There are many Illustrators out there right now less talented than you getting the jobs that you would probably love to have, because they are doing it.

You must become obsessive about it.

You must research all you can and soak it up and eat it for breakfast.

You must make it a part of your identity.

You must make a change within yourself, from saying “I want to be _____ some day.” to “I am _____.”

This is not just a motivational message.  This is a real truth that you can put into action right now.  The only thing stopping you is your perception of yourself as less than what you want to be.  If you take this small step today, you are already closer to reaching your dreams than you were a moment ago.

Escapee has spoken.

What is YOUR experience with this practice?  Please share your thoughts in the comment section below.

Read More Escapee Speaks Inspiration

Who is this Escapee guy anyway?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2009 9:43 AM

    Amen, my moonlit brother! The distance between “I wish” and “I am” is measured in miles, but footsteps. It’s a pedestrian crosswalk, not an interstate – and the walking stick figure is flashing in your favor, people.

    A rant about a road block, from personal experience – listening to or reading the words of established creative talent, while helpful AND necessary to anyone serious about it, can be very intimidating. I mean, have your heard how experienced some of these ladies and gentlemen are? How precious they are about the details, and how thorough their though processes are? From the standpoint of someone who thinks they’ve got the drawing chops to do something for money, listening to a podcast (and I’m not naming one in particular, because most of the best ones get this way) where the hosts talk about why they chose one serif font over the other, or what emotion their color pallette conveys, or (my personal favorite) what 80 year old artistic movement inspired their magazine cover… WOW. I’m nowhere near that level of expertise!

    Well, time to demystify the great, unreachable power of the professionals a bit, because if someone is too busy looking up in wonder, they’re not looking down at the art table. And that’s not a knock at you freelancers living the dream – I’m certain many of you can remember having this perception of the industry at one point, and overcoming that perception was a large part of getting to where you are now. I am only encouraging that others do the same, and wording it dramatically.

    To those starry-eyed wannabes and newbies reading this. Listen to the escapee. Don’t worry about the fact that you’re not as clever or as your future peers. Don’t worry that what they say about their line weight decisions and studio feng shui makes you realize you’ve only ever considered a fraction of what goes into this whole thing. Just. Get. To. Work. Keep listening and reading, but do your own thing. I promise you – promise, that eventually, at whatever speed you work at, you will catch yourself thinking or saying “Well, I chose that shade of grey because it compliments the blue-tones, which I chose because it is a standard blue tone that the printer won’t charge me extra for and… oh, holy #$%@, I’m one of them! I’m a high falootin’ illustrator! Yipeee!”

    To whittle all that down to one sentence: The experts became experts by doing things, and that’s the only way you’ll become oine too. Jeez, I should have just said that in the first place.

  2. Daniel Nowak permalink
    October 29, 2009 2:02 PM

    Thank you both for this post and your comment. I am an illustrator that comes from no drawing background. This week is midterms at art school and more than once I have thought about hanging up the towel. Being reminded that others have been where I am at makes me remember that I can do this.

  3. October 29, 2009 2:19 PM

    This is soooo true. Once we stop saying “I will be” or “I want to be”, and move into “I am”, everything shifts. Because, if “I am”, then we must act as if we are. If we are illustrators, then we must tell people we are illustrators. We must advertise our illustration skills. We must pursue illustration work.

    As long as we “will be”, we are free to ignore all of that work, effort and opportunity. As long as we “want to be”, we can go about our lives and dream. Once “we are”, however, we MUST take action in harmony with that declaration or we are lying to ourselves, and this is something we can’t mentally take for long, so we switch back into “we want to be.”

    Scary? Sure. But its easy to get started. Try something small. Try putting whatever it is you want to be in your email signature and design a business card. Put it in your LinkedIn, Facebook and Twitter profiles. That’s it. See how it feels. I’ll bet you like it. :)

  4. October 29, 2009 5:07 PM

    Thanks, Escapee… well put, as always.

  5. studioanjou permalink
    November 2, 2009 7:02 AM

    Very uplifting, thank you. I just gave up a ‘secure’ 9 to 5 to follow my illustration dream and I’m already TERRIFIED I won’t be able to keep up. Thanks for the pep talk and for creating this group.

Leave a Reply

