Skip to content

Escapee Speaks: Stop Being Such an Illustrator

November 14, 2009
by

Last night, I attended the wedding of my best friend.

He’s been a brother to me for 15 years, and it was amazing just to watch him get married to the love of his life, and to see him shake his booty till the break o’ dawn and have the time of his life.

In order to share this experience with him, I had to tear myself away from my work and fly down to San Diego for the weekend, and while it’s always an effort for me to step out of the studio and play in the real world, I am often quickly reminded of how fulfilling it is to do just that.

There is nothing better for you than to experience the real joys and passions of life.

So, in addition to pouring your soul into your work as a creator, today I wanted to encourage you to remember the importance of putting things aside for a moment in exchange for a breath of fresh air, a cup of coffee with a friend, a stroll down memory lane, a walk in the ankle-deep water of the ocean shore, or anything else that fills you with the light of life.

We must remember that we are human, and that we have basic, spiritual needs that can only be met by opening ourselves to the breath of the universe and making room in our hearts to sow the seeds of our own happiness.

Escapee has spoken.

What is YOUR experience with this practice? Please share your thoughts in the comment section below.

Read More Escapee Speaks Inspiration

Who is this Escapee guy anyway?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2009 2:28 PM

    Sometimes I feel overburdened by the work and process of illustration and art and I need to get away from it. I try to find outlets of inspiration such as video games, movies, music or more recently podcasts about art and illustration to reaffirm why I am interested in being an artist. However, I am also aware that a lot of the time I am just being lazy and procrastinating because I don’t want to face up to the responsibilities of adulthood. I constantly have to find a balance between both worlds!

    Outside of video games, movies, music and podcasts, it is also important to have strong relationships with friends and family. Locking your self up in a room definitely weakens these bonds and its important to get out there every now and then and just hang out. I did this last week and had a good time.

    Also, take the time out to enjoy nature. Exercise, change your diet!

    Overall it is important to find a balance between all aspects of life.

    18hrs of drawing a day = unhealthy obsessive compulsion

    • November 16, 2009 3:34 PM

      Thanks Ramon! It’s really important to try and make Illustration be our healthy passion, rather than our unhealthy compulsion. It’s a fine line indeed.

  2. November 14, 2009 2:41 PM

    Just today I went out with a few friends after our life-drawing class to a coffee shop were we had a great time just talking and sketching for hours. While I guess that the fact that we were drawing makes it not so much “stopping to be such an illustrator”, the social part of it was deffinately the what we were really there for. I do find it great to combine my intrest for drawing with other activities, bringing your sketchbook to the pub for example makes for some interesting sketching sessions (and results in my sketchbook being filled with tortured pokemon). I guess I’m just taking advantage of going to a arts uni, and having lots of illustrator friends around me all the time.

    • November 16, 2009 3:31 PM

      It’s always nice when you can combine art and social gatherings. Great way to escape from illustration island.

  3. November 14, 2009 5:14 PM

    Thanks again, Escapee! Very true.

  4. November 15, 2009 7:46 PM

    A very good point; balance is so important. I just wanted to add that I find personally that it has been highly beneficial to my mental health (and to my body, undoubtedly!) to make a decent amount of exercise a priority. Running (for me) helps me to clear my mind no matter what is preoccupying me.

    • November 16, 2009 3:30 PM

      Thanks for adding that point, Amanda. Illustrators definitely tend to be less physically active and take that for granted. I’m guilty of that myself, even though I love to go hiking and biking.

Leave a Reply

