Skip to content

Successful Art Rep Relationships – Case Study 2

January 15, 2010

In response to requests from the EFII Community, I’ve been discussing the topic of artist representatives all week.  So far I’ve talked about things to consider when thinking about working with an art rep, how to find one, and how to be attractive to him or her.

To follow up on yesterday’s case study of Penny Dullaghan’s relationship with her art rep, I want to share another story submitted by Illustrator Holli Conger, who previously appeared on EFII Podcast Episode 14:

Here’s Holli’s story:

I signed up with my art rep in April of 2005. I do have to say that it was the best decision for my business. I was not established, did not have a lot of clients and wasn’t 100% confident in my style, but she saw potential in me and gave me tips and pointer on how I could develop my style to better fit the children’s market. I contribute the success with my rep over the last five years by both of us having a “permission to speak freely” attitude with each other, love for illustrtion and most importantly trust. I trust her to find me work (obviously), negotiate for the best prices, stick up for realistic project timeframes, make sure the client pays on time and to keep me aware of all possible projects and negotiations. In turn I do a lot of heavy promotion on my end to keep us both busy, let clients know I appreciate them and keep them happy (if I didn’t how would that reflect on her?) and funnel jobs through her when a client emails me directly for a job.

My rep recently added portfolio critiques to her business and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to illustrate in the children’s publishing market. Her fee if very fair and a small price to pay to get first hand knowledge and advice on what publishers are looking for. With over 15 years as a rep she really know her stuff! link: http://www.maggiebyersprinzeles.com/critique/index.shtml.

Thanks to Holli Conger for sharing her story of a fruitful art rep relationship.  I’ll be posting more case studies like this one in the future, and applying this format to other topics as well.

Do you have a story about a positive art rep relationship?  Please share it in the comments section of this post.

Related Posts:

Follow future EFII updates via email or RSS.

Bookmark and Share

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2010 8:25 AM

    Thanks Thomas!

    • January 18, 2010 8:45 AM

      Thanks for sharing your story, Holli! I know that our fellow Illustrators will find this useful.

  2. February 17, 2010 5:23 PM

    Thanks for this great post! I was about to sign with a rep I had been brokering with when I read it and it gave me pause. I had been feeling a lack of confidence with the relationship; she was slow to move forward, hadn’t put any of my images on the web site for the nine months I was with her, and horrors – held checks weeks after she’d been paid. Thankfully she was also slow to get a contract to me to commit to her. After I read this post I decided to query a different agent (the very one Holli is with), and confidently signed with her in less than a week. I feel like I dodged a bullet!

Leave a Reply

