Skip to content

How Do You Make Money as an Artist?

February 13, 2010

(Illustration by Glenn Hustler)

Hello fellow artists!

This week’s Weekend Forum topic is inspired by two recent posts here at EFII called 15 Places to Sell Your Work Online and 4 More Places to Sell Your Work Online.

The subject of alternate income streams is of great interest to a lot of Illustrators and Designers, so I thought I’d ask:

“How do you make money as an artist?”

Do you sell prints of your work online?

Do you teach or consult?

Do you double as a web designer?

Do you supplement your income with a day job?

I’d love to hear from you, and I know your fellow artists would too!  Please share your thoughts in the comments section of this post.  While you’re here, find out what your fellow artists had to say about other Weekend Forum topics!

Special thanks to Glenn Hustler for providing the artwork for this post.

Related Posts:

Stay up-to-date with future Illustration resources via emailFacebook, and Twitter.

47 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2010 7:18 AM

    All of the above actually. I do freelance illustration, but those jobs are still few and far between at this stage of my career. I create commissioned paintings every once in a while. I sell some art in galleries, and have some jewelry/other stuff in sale at various consignment shops. I sell prints, art, jewelry, etc. on my Etsy shop (http://hansma.etsy.com). I teach some painting lessons and seminars about promoting yourself as an artist. I have a 9-5 job as a graphic designer at a consulting firm. I plan on doing some indie craft fairs this year as well.

    I’m a busy bunny.

    • February 13, 2010 7:26 AM

      Thanks Heather! I think it’s great that you’re diversifying your income streams. It can be dangerous to just rely on one source of earnings. You never know when one well might dry up. Is there one source that works best for you, or does the combination work together to help you earn a living?

      • February 13, 2010 8:26 AM

        Right now my graphic design job is what supports me. Everything else is bonus. I’m working in switching over from my day job to what my career and passion is: illustration. It is complicated because my job takes up so much of my time so it is holding me back from accomplishing more, but I can’t work less at the moment because my significant other was laid off from his job. It is all a great balancing act, but I love it so much that I’ll bend over backwards to further my career as an illustrator.

  2. February 13, 2010 7:59 AM

    I closed my studio about ten years back, so that was before the time of etsy, zazzle, etc., but I used lots of ways to sell. Retail shows and fairs (average 20 per year), wholesale shows like Buyers Market of American Crafts, had sales reps carrying my line, sold to various catalogs, did trunk shows at Nordstrom and other stores, home shows, and had a website way back in the eighties before anyone would put their credit card online. I found that you need to constantly search out new ways to sell. Make as many contacts as you can. Publicize your work all the time, and let all your friends know – they will support you and be your best advocates. I was able to work full time for twenty years and keep about three assistants busy. It’s a challenge, but if you want to sell your work, you are in business. Think like a businessperson.

    • February 13, 2010 8:05 AM

      Thanks Carolyn! Those are some great points. I think you have to apply just as much time, effort, and creativity to selling your work as you do making it. Assuming you want to earn a living from it, that is. Thanks for sharing your story.

  3. February 13, 2010 8:24 AM

    At the moment, I’m just starting out my illustration career so my only source of income is a part time job. I’m aiming to work in a design studio as my ‘other job’ but still in the process of trying to get placements etc. It’s a slow process. I know that my illustration will have to be subsidised with other forms of work for a long time because it’s going to take a while to get enough clients to sustain myself full time.

  4. February 13, 2010 9:11 AM

    I have been really enjoying your site. I first saw updates on Linked In in the Children’s Book group.

    I do product design for toy and giftware companies in addition to illustration. It involves a lot of drawing and is a nice compliment. Your comments on diversifying is a good idea.

    I am also just starting to sell paintings on Etsy.

  5. February 13, 2010 9:16 AM

    Wow, Heather, that IS busy! Since you lecture on artist self-promotion, do you have any tips on branding?

    • February 13, 2010 6:51 PM

      My biggest tip is to put yourself out there and show your personality. Of course be aware that what you say online is very public, but don’t just be cold and corporate. If you have a Twitter feed, don’t just talk about a new blog post or your newest painting; talk about things you care about. People care about people. Make people care about you by showing them the real you.

  6. February 13, 2010 9:19 AM

    I do freelance graphic design, sell illustrations, enter any contest I can find, gallery shows, etc. It paid the bills three years ago, but for the past two years I’ve been increasingly reliant on substitute teaching. This year I plan on helping with the Census. It’s getting tough. Is Walmart hiring?

  7. February 13, 2010 9:44 AM

    During the day I sculpt and paint figures for Mardi Gras floats and at night I do freelance illustration. I also show in as many galleries as I can and sell through zazzle, my blog, and any other opportunity that might pop up.

  8. February 13, 2010 10:10 AM

    Selling origional oil and acrylic paintings is my primary source of income. I place myself where other artists are not. Some months I thrive, others not so much. I am represented by three galleries

    I do not hand out business cards. I gather contact information. Once on my mailing list prospective clients get my bi-monthly news letter through Constant Contact. This has been highly successful for me.

    Painting outside I am able to capture an energy not found in the studio. This puts me in the public eye. Many paintings are sold by admirers stopping to chat.

    I do not decorate offices or restaurants unless they agree to purchase a work of art.

    I do not enter shows, it is a waste of time, energy and money. My primary mission is to paint,network and sell art. I place myself where people who can afford my work hang out.

    I believe there is a huge untapped market for fine art in advertising.

    That is my two cents worth for now. Cheers, Jude Bischoff http://www.judebischoff.com

  9. February 13, 2010 10:11 AM

    As a cartoonist, doing my own books, I sell them at comic book conventions, big and small. I attend at least three a year. Generally I make a little money, enough to cover the cost of the books and the table rental. I’ve gotten work from my comics, so I look at it as promotion over money making.

    I will be opening a zazzle store so that some of the images from my own work can be bought on objects.

    My favorite source of income is from straight forward illustration. Nothing better then getting paid for drawing. My style allows for a wide variety of clients, depending on what they need for that particular project.

    But honestly right now the bulk of my income is from what I call meat and potatoes work. Namely production artist work for publishing. I’m signed up with a temp agency that gets me work doing that, were I go in and put print pieces together for companies. I did that for years before going freelance. The pay is good and with my experience, the work is easy. (especially after 5 years in educational publishing doing mostly Math books. Laying out an algebra book is a nightmare of text tweaking)

    Currently I’m working to switch my meat and potato work to coloring comics, and then illustrating children books. I want to do less and less production artist work, since that often requires me having to work in house.

  10. February 13, 2010 10:54 AM

    Illustration commissions are few & far between unfortunately. I’m doggedly promoting myself via my web site, Twitter, Facebook, TAXI, Dripbook, and Illustration Mundo. I have some older self-promo illos up for sale at Getty Images. And I sell archival fine-art prints at http://davestolte.etsy.com — but all of that accounts for maybe 1% of my income.

    I work a day job as the solo in-house graphic artist for a consumer goods company about an hour away from home, working closely with a NYC design agency on the company’s square-one rebranding. I’m there Monday – Thursday 8:00 to 6:00.

    And I take on whatever freelance design work comes my way – web sites, logos, print collateral, and illustration outside of my style.

    With all of this, I still try to do at least one thing every day to further my illustration career, hoping to get to the point where I can do it full-time and ditch these other (less interesting, less rewarding) means of getting by.

  11. February 13, 2010 11:01 AM

    I’m still in school, at St John’s University in NY, an Illustration major. I’m planning to go to The School of Visual Arts in the Fall for an MFA in Computer Art. Hopefully after that I’ll have a lot of things under my belt. I’m starting to get a little bit of money with web design. Besides that, I’m still getting started.

    • May 28, 2012 2:36 AM

      I’d love to be entered for the draw.Like a lot of ohetrs, getting my work out there is the hardest part. I’m shy and in the past haven’t done much promo-wise apart from mail-shots. I’ve occasionally forced myself to cold call publishers or go along to an event in person, but I haven’t done phone-calls at all for a long time as it really does terrify me! But this challenge has encouraged me to explore new ways of promoting my work and of supplementing my meagre illustration income. So thanks!

  12. February 13, 2010 11:39 AM

    I consider design an art form so I will tell my tale of it. I live in a large mid-western city where getting a gig as a designer is seemingly near impossible. With the economy as it is more and more companies not only want a Bachelors degree but some are now requiring a Masters and 3-5 years experience. Or they want to pay you 10 dollars and hour for your creativity. I’ve been freelancing design since I was 16 but in that time ever hoping to land a full-time gig. I would try and do commissioned pencil drawings whenever possible but my style is not for the masses so those are very rare. For the last few years I haven’t drawn or designed a single thing. In fact all my art supplies were gathering dust in my closet. I even went back to school for a Computer Information Science degree that I’m still working on.

    And then I get a phone call from a lady who is doing marketing for a well known restaurant group wondering if I wanted to do some design work for them. I almost said no but my creative side got the better of me and now I’m on retainer for them hopefully working towards a full time position. The downside is I also have to work nearly full time as a cook in a restaurant to make ends meet.

    I think its getting increasingly more difficult for artists, illustrators, and designers to earn a decent income. Spec work and the internet seem to have driven the prices way down. I’ve started to notice this for fine art as well.

  13. February 13, 2010 1:02 PM

    Most of my money comes from royalties from my childrens books, second would be from freelance illustration jobs. Things have been rough this year with my wife in school and with me doing books that pay good royalties little up front so I’ve started selling art and have taken an agent.

  14. February 13, 2010 1:41 PM

    I sell prints through my website, as well as work as a freelance graphic designer, illustrator, 3D modeler, photographer and retoucher (so just about everything!). Unfortunately my primary income is still a full time job in a semi-design sense. I’m working to get away from that though.

  15. February 13, 2010 6:48 PM

    My primary income in the past years was my full-time job as a concept artist at a video game company, but unfortunately the company had major financial problems and closed down a couple of weeks ago.
    I consider myself lucky, because I am also working as a freelancer for different international clients – doing mainly illustrations for hobby game companies and concept designs for video game and animation projects. It sounds pretty good, when I say this, but to be honest the income from my freelance works is barely enough to survive. Well, at least something till I can find another full-time job.
    Beside that I am just updating my website and really thinking about to launch an online store on it and maybe connect it with an Etsy account.
    Do you guys/girls see any point of online stores? I am thinking about selling quality prints and tutorial downloads about concept design and digital painting.

  16. February 14, 2010 11:22 AM

    My primary source of income is a part-time job at a local newspaper where they use InDesign for publishing , but I also have a couple of online stores that have been online for five years:

    http://www.zazzle.com/reasontolive*
    http://www.cafepress.com/patriotictwist

    I’m also in school for graphic design, so my plate is pretty full at the moment. However, I am looking to expand my online presence and create artwork to sell in local galleries. I think that once I get more of my own equipment, I can expand my enterprise even more, especially in terms of being able to do my own screen printing one day. Great site, by the way! :)

  17. February 14, 2010 12:37 PM

    I am lucky enough to make a living out of commission animation and illustration work. I have started out of school as a freelance and I have stayed this way since. I want to do a bit more of self marketting and devellopping and selling products online, I have been really inspired by what I have heard on this podcast!

  18. February 14, 2010 5:41 PM

    seems like everyone needs a second income that isn’t their primary passion.

    I’m in the same boat. But my boat has changed in the past year. I used to go to my freelance gig daily like any other job. But when my last gig ended as an art director I decided to jump into the illustration market as full time as I can. While the freelance design jobs pretty much keep me just above water (and the wife’s business is a godsend for support) I put about 40-50 hours a week into my illustration now.

    Taking that leap included adding conventions and classes, as well as running life drawing sessions.
    If you have a studio you might consider opening it up for figure drawing. It doesn’t pay all the bills but it makes up for a slow day.

    Etsy seems like it’s going to slowly work as well. Having a nice featured image on the front page helps. Though I sell most prints at conventions.

    I’ll be trying quite a few of the ideas posted here and other places over the coming year.

    I’ll also have to second the notion of constantly putting yourself out there. It’s just going to take time to fine tune the “where” and “how much”.

  19. February 14, 2010 7:25 PM

    I have worked full time as a graphic designer since I graduated art school in 1995 with an Illustration degree.
    Ever since graduation I have taken as many freelance jobs as I had time for. And that has created a very diverse portfolio! I have been a single mother since college too & my son is now 15 so I am starting to slowly spend more time with my own art. I have many plans. I want to design posters, spot illustrations, children’s books. I know, I have to focus though so for now I am focusing on posters. I’m still working out my art style for them and all the details but as soon as I do I will put up an etsy site. I am very excited!

    This site is a great resource for someone who feels like they are opening a new chapter, and all this social media is the new wave for all of us who are going to try and self market. I don’t twitter or have a flicker or zazzle yet – there is so much to spend time on and so little time!!!

    http://www.behance.net/mschultz

    http://3hatsdesign.blogspot.com/

  20. February 15, 2010 12:15 AM

    I create, produce and sell my art for children from my two online shops http://www.carladaly.com and http://www.carladaly.co.uk
    I had worked in publishing for years but was frustrated with the limitations of some of the jobs. Making the step to an online business was the best decision I ever made.

  21. February 15, 2010 12:17 AM

    I’ve been working as Graphic Designer / Illustrator for about 25 years. Started out starving as a freelance Artist. I had my share of flaky clients who never had any money to pay for what they had commissioned. I then found a full time job as an in house Artist for a Western Jewelery manufacturer. Did that for 4 years and then moved to a company that did silk screened backlit glass for a Gaming company. 18 years later I’m still there. Worked my way up to a lead Artist in a company with about 100 graphic artists of all skill levels.

    I’ve found that in order to succeed in an environment like this you must be very versatile in your styles and a willingness to embrace new technologies. When I first started with this company everything was done by hand on the board. Soon it was all digitized. Today even the glass is gone and the games are all video. Doesn’t mean traditional art is out of the question. If you are creative enough you can find ways to incorporate hand drawn or painted works in your projects. Did I mention versatility? It’s been a wild challenging ride. I’ve also enjoyed a living beyond my best expectations. Some days I feel like a corporate sell out but I’ve always stuck to the thought that there is fun and art in every project. The challenge is finding it. Those projects that no one is interested in can turn out to be your greatest successes. In my journey I never thought that I would end up designing video games for a gaming company. Kind of dreamt of other artistic glory. I’ve been very fortunate that I’ve been able to go to work every day and do art for a living and at the same time support my family.

    • Deb permalink
      September 18, 2010 5:33 PM

      You are NOT a sell-out; afterall you are doing creative artistic work you enjoy. It’s great that you have found a way to make a comfortable living at it.

  22. February 15, 2010 9:13 PM

    I make my entire living from freelance illustration. I actually make more now than I did as a full-time employee. I find there is a lot of work in untraditional media. My work has been on everything from metal bookmarks, to greeting cards, to novelty socks.

    • Deb permalink
      September 18, 2010 5:25 PM

      I would love to get into these non-traditional media. Did you find them through research, an agent or professional contacts? I just ask, because, though I am a mature artist, I am new at trying to make a living at it.

  23. February 16, 2010 6:48 AM

    I mix it up a tiny bit between my day job, freelance illustration and freelance photography.

    My daily job as an Art Director is what brings the bread home at the moment, but it’s freelance illustration that brings the joy. I also do a bit of photography (and not bad at it I must say)

    As I’m sure it happens to everyone else that has a day job and also freelances, it can be very tiring doing both. If I have a big ad campaign at work I sometimes have to do very long hours, and when I get home I don’t feel like jumping on the Mac again to do some illustrations …. but as soon as I turn it on it feels like a breath of fresh air. That is what made me realize that illustration is what I wanted to do ‘full time’ and I hope one day I can achive that, become a full time illustrator, freelance Art Director ;)

    http://www.illustrationsbyoscar.com
    http://illusbyoscar.blogspot.com/

    When I get a project from a client I get as excited as if I

  24. February 17, 2010 5:35 AM

    My journey to become an illustrator is a long one. I married late in life which meant I worked in the corp. and newspaper field to support my miniscule illustration business. When married, we purchased a house, my husband’s in his own business (antique restoration in vintage hi-fi, radios and record players for vinyl). This meant I needed to bring home the benefits bacon.
    I resisted getting a secretarial job but that’s what showed up on the horizon and it was better for me than seeking a graphic design job as I work in a well-heeled town’s elementary school. We have more paid holidays off, and being around kids though exhausting and I literally work in a petri dish-is inspiring. Plus our benefits-knock on wood are pretty good-so yes, my hourly rate would be lower than a corp. job-my benefits are much better.

    For my own creative business I still wish and need more time, for illustration-I can only take certain jobs on but this I hope to change in the future.

    Unless the networking is really good, I think more illustrators might consider seeking town jobs for day work as benefits are better but in a town with a healthy tax base. Like becoming a para-professional i.e. teacher’s helper could be the ticket for some over design jobs where you work late hours. Still I wish I worked out of the home full time but having said that if I did I would want it to be art based work I was taking in and not production/design work. Although I’m a secretary the para professional job for the lower grades is not unlike that of a production artist in my view.

    My goal is to build up my ETSY following, do local shows, sell direct to galleries/boutiques and continue to develop my illustration style in two years I hope to re-enter the illustration field i.e. work at home. My husband and I might consider a future move to Oil City or other towns that offer reasonable housing prices and incentives to artists to live in their artist districts so I would be able to create full time from my home.

    Suzanne in CT

  25. February 17, 2010 4:35 PM

    Like many of the folks above, I work as a graphic designer during the day. For the last two years I’ve been at a weekly financial news magazine. I get the opportunity to play art director with many other talented illustrators. It is interesting to see how others approach a problem and work through them. A good number of the stories I assign are rather dry and don’t always lend themselves to easy visuals, so it forces me to brainstorm a bit to find an appropriate concept for the art. I think those two things are making me a better illustrator. Unfortunately, the freelance work doesn’t come as much as I would like, or even as frequently as it did before things turned south a couple of years ago.

    On the other hand, I don’t know where I would be without this job because of a pair of changes in my life, one planned and another that came completely out of the blue that makes me glad I have health insurance.

  26. February 20, 2010 4:52 AM

    Hi,
    I found that selling my illustration work on Microstock sites can make quite nice and easy money. Of course, that the prices are very low there, but you dont need to submit there your best and most complex work. The easy vectors are good enough for microstock and are selling very well.

    If you want to know more about selling illustrations and photos on microstock, read my article here: The best microstock sites for selling photos, illustrations, footage, flash

  27. lew azzinaro permalink
    August 7, 2010 11:53 AM

    hey all,…just stumbled upon your site after keying in to google the phrase..”is it possible for illustrators to earn a living today?”…and your site popped up,…was curious after all these years since my retirement….have some interesting perspective on that issue,…was a freelance illustrator for 30 years,…can you believe that?!…never made a lot of money,…never got into 6 figures,…made 50-60,000. in my best years,…wife started her own business back in 1993, and within a few years was actually making very good money,…allowing me to finally give up my career as a very over-worked and under payed illustrator,…now work for her in her business,…my guess would be that it’s even more difficult nowadays to actually support a family on freelance illustration than when i retired back in 2000,…we used to hear remarkable stories when i was in college back in the seventies about artists like bob peak and mark english and bernie fuchs making 300,000 dollars a year! i think those days are long gone,…can’t think of a single illustrator that would make that today?,…maybe someone like mary grandpre with her success with the harry potter series,…if any, they would be VERY few and far between,…sadly,…from my perspective,..i actually think this is one of those occupations that really didn’t make it into the 21st century,…and it’s glory days are WAY behind it,…sorry for the gloom,…but reality has to crack thru sometimes i think,…i had a pretty good run,…never got rich,…loved it for a long time,…then realized i was really working way too hard for way too little money,..and signed “over and out!”…all the best to youse out there still pluggin’ away at it!…much love…

  28. August 12, 2010 5:50 AM

    I’m almost done with art school, have a tutoring job at my art school, I do some work at community art events I’m also working on a couple books for promotion and I have done a little bit of freelance for local clients also

  29. August 12, 2010 5:51 AM

    I sell prints online and have a cafepress store also.

  30. August 17, 2010 10:21 AM

    Good article. Personally, i believe that in order to succeed you should give equal attention to making HIGH QUALITY design, and promoting your store. If your products are good – you’ll succeed in the long run, but to speed up this succession – you should put half of your time in promoting the store.
    Here’s my gallery. promoting, remember? (:
    http://www.zazzle.com/chromobotia*

  31. Deb permalink
    September 18, 2010 5:07 PM

    I currently am not making any money as an artist. After I completed a fine arts degree in painting I ended up spending most of my time making ends meet working in food service and had very little time to paint, not to mention money left over to rent a studio. After a couple of years of this I went back to school to learn the in/outs of graphic design and illustration, but as another article said, education alone does not get you work. After a two year struggle for something more then temp work where I design ads 1% of the time and was an basic office worker 99% of the time, I gave up and got a “regular job ” as a customer service rep. This ended up being a 10 year career detour where art became nothing more then a hobby. However, after I recently lost my most recent customer service gig, I decided that I was really regretting giving up on being a “real artist”, so I am trying again (just starting out) to make some money from art.

  32. January 16, 2011 10:37 AM

    Hello, I graduated from a Bachelors Illustration program last year, doing both a lot of graphic design art and traditional illustrations alike. I am so overwhelmed by all these different paths and styles that I really don’t know where to take my mainly mixed media portfoilo to first. I don’t have a mainstream kind of style that makes for easy commisions. I only know design in terms of making full on finished detailed vector illustrations digitally, and working with typesetting to small degrees, and tiny amounts of dreamweaver. This doesn’t really count enough for most graphic design/advertising jobs who keep wanting different software knowledge on a day to day basis and usually only want web programmers knowledge. So i don’t know what target markets would be best for me to focus on right now as an unknown newbie in this art world, which ones are making the most work for artists right now? I’ve been tweeting and facebooking and deviantart-ing my name and recent works out there as much I can but noone has really responded to me except my close friends, who are all in competition with me. I don’t really know if I ought to begin creating new aliases for my varying styles or is it too late by this point, because I’ve already displayed my other digital works alongside my traditional ones. If anyone has any advice for me, please email or reply with a comment, I’d greatly appreciate it. I feel most intimidated.

  33. July 21, 2011 4:50 PM

    Hello thank you for inviting me to this Forunm excuse me if my typing is bad if miss a few words in my text, My names Andrew I’m a Freelance Illustrator/ Animator student from the UK, annd I work in a Cinema Part time and I Volunteer as a Designer for a Magazine,

    I have been Freelancing for about 4 years so far and its only now, that I’m really begining to try and put the solid effort to make some new work this year, I’m working on Comics that I wrote and I’m colouring at the moment and I guess some days you know I loose faith in myself, because employers are so cheery Picky on who they choose and who they want, for what ever reason, that I’m begining to think that no one will ever employ me,

    The reality of the world, is that I’ve learned over the years after I’ve finished University in a bad way 4 years ago, that life is never fair for anybody, but if you really want something bad enough, you will live it, breath it, sleep it, and dream it, until reality sets in, and you become to realise what reality is, and you are not so upset anymore, and deep down I believe someday, that I will make and I can make it someday, But I have let I idealsims from Universuty to some extent go, because certain people in the world not what they do,

    will just succeed, without trying much, and certain others, just have to battle everyday like a street fighter, to get somewhere, whether if I like to admit this which I, we are all in the same prodicament whether were Artists, Businessman, Mothers, Fathers, all types of backgrounds, and before my mate left you are not alone, so reading all the responses i’ve read from this forumn, is quite encouraging because I really feel, I’m not alone and it would be just cool, you nice to meet other people in contact, that are either in a simular situation or even if u had any Advise, I’d really welcome it too, because theres a Wise man or woman on every corner……thanx reading peace and belssings.

  34. prastio permalink
    November 3, 2011 7:14 PM

    Quote how I want to sell my illustrations, can be explained whether the procedure. I just want to sell it .. whether drawing illustrations could

  35. December 21, 2011 1:52 AM

    Hi everyone,

    Interesting to hear everyones perspectives on this. I have been lucky enough to make a full time career out of illustration right off the bat. You can view all of my work here http://www.olivercartwright.com
    It’s defiantly a hard career to follow, but it’s worth it if you plan to keep improving your work and build an uncompromised vision. Not only is my career creative but also rewarding as a lifestyle. The internet has allowed me to live in Tokyo and now Korea since leaving my boring hometown in England. My advice is to just create incredible work that will blow peoples minds and build a skill set that is unmatched.

  36. February 3, 2012 4:20 AM

    I have been an Artist for about a year now in conjunction with working as a carer very part time…I am earning money by giving art classes, a monthly Food Market, website – blog – illustrating a book with a friend about the New Forest; Illustrating and writing a children’s book; submitting my work to card companies ( but not often)
    i seem to be DOING the right things but feel very frustrated as to where I am going! I am focusing more on being a local ‘New Forest’ artist….but gosh I do feel lost and frustrated at times! I could do with some ideas as to where to work on next – people love my art it is the business aspect that I find hard!
    Sarah Orchard

  37. May 7, 2012 7:31 AM

    Lots of young artists are flippping burgers in a fast food restaurant in order to pay rent and survive. Selling your talent as mini services is a great way to make some quick money and besides that’s your passion or what you have studied for. So that’s why I like http://www.streetlance.com. It’s a new platform for talented young artist to come up with things they can do in a short amount of time for a little price. Great way to make money as artist, attract new clients, gain experience and promote yourself. I started a Qr code customization mini service for $15. One week, 3 clients :)

Trackbacks

  1. How Do You Make Money as an Artist? | Illustrationmundo.com
  2. Artist Nja Onê In Her Own Words Part 2 | The African Art Store
  3. AND I'm an Artist: Art as a Hobby

Leave a Reply

