Skip to content

How to Manage 70 Online Profiles

March 5, 2010

(Illustration by David Price)

Do you have multiple social networking profiles?

More and more people every day are building a collection of online profiles through sites like Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and many others.  While this can be a great way to establish an online presence, it can also be a potential time-waster.  For this reason, it is generally recommended to set up profiles on multiple sites while regularly participating in only a few of the more effective social networks.  This approach helps you to make the most of your time and energy without sacrificing your other responsibilities.

Managing 70 Profiles

A few months ago, I invited all artists to share their social networking profiles with the Illustration community here at EFII.  In one response, artist David Price shared a list of over 70 links to various websites and networks, which is more than I knew existed.

I asked David to tell me how he manages to keep up with that many social profiles, and he has generously agreed to share his approach here at EFII.

Here’s David’s story:

Some sites receive more attention than others due to traffic volume and user interactions. Some of the sites I’ve only recently joined others I’ve been utilizing for awhile. The biggest amount of time goes to facebook.com where more one on one interaction occurs.  The next would be twitter.com and then the other social sites, blogs and portfolio sites get their attention paid to them less frequently. But I try to visit each at least once a week.

My visibility is much better with all of these sites compared to when I just had my own web site. And it gets your name and info in the search engines more frequently as well.  RedGage has seen a large rise in friend request for me this past week or two. I think this is just the site growing in traffic as I’ve done nothing special there.

I have several blogs but primarily promote only one (http://anartistat.com) and I have several domains I own also that are not in that list as I’m still developing them.

One suggestion I have for everyone is if you set up a new account at one of the portfolio sites or art posting sites like DeviantArt is that when you open your account there be prepared to post some art files as you set up the account rather than setting up several accounts at different sites and then coming back a few days later to post the art. The reason is that when you are new, a lot of these sites promote or feature new members on their homepages and you want to have something to show when you get that initial burst of traffic to your profile.

It is also good to have a consistent profile picture across the various communities to help people remember who you are. And in most cases you want to use your own face not a logo as it personalizes you in these social settings. Though you can of course be creative in your portrait and should do so if you are a creative person as this shows a glimpse of yourself and your work everywhere you post.

I also visit several art message board forums and post to those when I find something interesting. Some of those I’ve been a member of for years before I started thinking about social networking. So my user name is not consistent in those with the one I try to use everywhere now. I primarily try to use onepainter as my identity on sites that require one so that I’m easily found in various places by my friends. Although as I was saying some places I’ve been around for years they may know me as something else. Whenever possible I try to use my real name now, something I used to avoid in the early days of the internet when it was more common to be somewhat anonymous.

It should be said that this requires lots of time and effort as I’m sure you’ve found with all you do yourself. I feel as a self-employed artist I have to spend time on self-promotion and marketing the same as any business owner has to.
Sure it takes me away from being creative doing art but you can make it fun for yourself by staying on top of it and reaping the rewards of meeting new people and gaining new work you wouldn’t have found out about if you didn’t do a little work for yourself.

Thanks to David Price for sharing his approach with the community.  It’s always valuable to hear another aritst’s point of view.  I hope this sheds some light on ways to manage multiple social networking profiles, blogs, and websites.

How do you manage your social networking?  Please share your thoughts in the comments section.

About David Price:  I am a 48 year old visual artist living in Texarkana, Texas. I’ve been married for 26 years and have three children, all in college. I was a student in Commercial Art at Oklahoma State University, Okmulgee and studied Fine Art and Journalism at Texarkana College followed by Graphic Design at The Art Institute of Pittsburgh. Now I work from a studio at my home doing freelance illustration and design. I also draw comics and own an interior design business but my focus is directed at drawing and painting.  I love TV and film as well as reading good books. I’m addicted to photographing and sketching the world around me and play guitar and harmonica to add a soundrack to my visual world.  My website is www.davidprice.net and my blog is www.anartistat.com.

Related Posts:

Stay up-to-date with future Illustration resources via emailFacebook, and Twitter.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2010 5:38 AM

    I really have to question the wisdom of using facebook and myspace for promotional purposes because they have a lousy terms of service agreement regarding intellectual property – one that gives them an irrevocable license to use and sub-license anything you post on their site.

    To put your work on facebook or myspace is to essentially give away your control over it.

    A few years down the road are we going to be hearing horror stories about artists who essentially gave their work away (and in the process helped make facebook or google richer) simply to improve their search engine ranking?

    The other question I have is has anyone ever gotten work because it was on facebook or myspace and nowhere else? I would suspect that art buyers and art directors have better things to do than search these sites for artists, assuming their employer’s IT department hasn’t blocked access to the site.

  2. March 9, 2010 6:40 AM

    Wow, 70 profiles! That’s impressive and I agree that the more online presence you have, the better your search engine rankings. John, it’s a fair comment. I get around it by having my wordpress blog link to my facebook fan page. That way, my posts appear on Facebook and get sent out to my contacts, but the only images which directly appear on Facebook are my profile pic and any graphics I work up specifically for my facebook page.

    I’m not currently looking for work directly through my social networking sites. I’m looking to develop my ‘brand’ (yes, I hate that word too). To a certain extent, I can experiment on my facebook contacts and the healthier my online profile generally, the better I look to anyone who’s Googling me. I’m nowhere near 70 profiles, though…

  3. March 12, 2010 10:39 PM

    I use a similar strategy and I get trilled to the gills when I open my inbox to a new request for work.
    Also if you have a short video even if it’s just a slide show, you can add that to the video hosting sites with some clickable s in the description. So use those you tubes and what have you not just the obvious post a pic sites. Live video helps, same deal as having a photo over an icon. But interactive. I use ustream, but any of those will do.

Trackbacks

  1. Best New Illustration Resources from EFII – March 2010 | Illustrationmundo.com

Leave a Reply

