Skip to content

How to Add a Watercolor Palette to Your Sketchbook

March 11, 2010

Artist Tracy Bishop recently posted her method for creating a portable, built-in watercolor palette for those times when she’s out and about with her sketchbook and wants to be able to add some color to her drawings.

Most of the time, EFII’s Tutorial of the Week series highlights more in-depth text or video tutorials, but every once in a while we all need these simple, straightforward tips to help make our creative lives easier.

Tracy’s technique:

“Here is my low-tech approach to having a full set of watercolors available at all times with your sketchbook–without carrying your watercolor kit around.

I use watercolor pencils and fill in solid color squares on the inside cover of the sketchbook.  Now all I have to do [in order] to do quick color sketches is use my water brush to pick up the colors.

The colors won’t be as vibrant and saturated as using a watercolor pan (and I have one of these too). But when you’re out and about and want to do a quick sketch, this does a wonderful job.”

Thanks to Tracy Bishop for sharing this great idea with the art community.  You can find the original post on her Children’s Book Illustration blog.

Do you have a tutorial or resource that you’d like to share with the Illustration community?  You can send them to EFII here.

Related Tutorials:

Stay up-to-date with future Illustration resources via email, Facebook, and Twitter.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2010 2:25 PM

    I really like her easy style. I’m so tired of dragging out all my paint tubes, filling up my palette, etc. I’m going to try her technique. Thanks Tracy!

  2. March 11, 2010 4:51 PM

    Interesting. And so simple! I think I’ll try this out.

  3. March 11, 2010 8:34 PM

    Thx for the tip, will try it out : )

  4. March 12, 2010 12:09 PM

    Wow! That’s smart. Much better than lugging around a watercolor kit I may or may not use.

Leave a Reply

