Skip to content

Podcast Episode 31 – Artist Representative Scott Hull

April 20, 2010

Episode 31 of the Escape From Illustration Island podcast features an audio interview with Artist Representative Scott Hull.  Together we discuss the ins and outs of artist representation, marketing, promotion, and ways that Illustrators can bridge the gap and connect with potential clients.

Here are links to some of the things mentioned on the show:

Scott Hull Associates
Penelope Dullaghan
Michael Bast
Art & Fear
Marketing with Meaning
Lynchpin: Are You Indispensable?
How to Draw a Bunny
Fusion
The Creative Finder
Dripbook

>> Tweet This Post >>

Related Posts:

25 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 6:01 AM

    A Fine episode this! Scott had some really great insights. Thanks as ever for the great pod Thomas.

    • April 21, 2010 12:54 PM

      Thanks Dylan! Thomas and I covered a lot of information in our conversation. As you could tell, I had a lot of information swirling in my head that I wanted to share.
      Could you suggest a topic(s) that would benefit our industry?

      • April 22, 2010 9:48 AM

        Hi Scott, was really great to hear from a rep with such a pro-active and forward thinking outlook, especially in regards to honing up and coming talents of fledgling illustrators.
        Often the horror stories can drown out the really good work you guys do.
        I’ll have a think about future topics and hit you back.
        Thanks again to you and Thomas.
        Best wishes.
        Dylan

  2. April 21, 2010 1:29 PM

    I really enjoyed this interview. Great questions and informative answers. Thank you Scott for your insights on the industry.

    • April 22, 2010 8:03 AM

      Scott was indeed a wealth of information and ideas. I’m already working on having him on the show again in the future, along with other art reps.

  3. April 21, 2010 4:52 PM

    awesome very insightful!
    I love how these podcasts gather from different sources in the industry, it really gives you a full grasp of the illus community.

    • April 22, 2010 8:02 AM

      Thanks Juan. I’m definitely focusing on doing just that to expand the scope of the show and leave no stone unturned. Glad you’re enjoying it.

  4. April 22, 2010 10:37 AM

    Another great, insightful interview. Thanks Scott and Thomas. I’m trying to figure out whether I want to start looking for a rep and it certainly sounds like there are very different approaches at different agencies.

    One sticking question in my head as I listened to this was: how can you really determine whether the representative or agency is as passionate or enthusiastic about their talent as Scott obviously is?

    Won’t different artists at the same agency give different accounts depending on how much attention they’re being paid by the agency?

    There was a lot of information in this interview that is not readily available, and certainly good to hear from an actual artist representative.

    I continue to be inspired by these podcasts, I’ve learned more since I’ve been listening to this podcast than I have in the past 5 years of my own research. Much appreciated!

  5. April 22, 2010 11:11 AM

    Excellent interview! Fascinating points of view from Mr. Hull. I am now even more frightened than I was about considering an Art Rep… lol. Really appreciated his opinions on “humanizing” things.

  6. April 22, 2010 6:19 PM

    Dear Scott,

    I have been aware of your connection to the art world since my days on the Centerville art council
    quite a few years ago.
    I just published my first childrens book last year http://www.jollytheelf.com and John Blackford was the illustrator(he had worked for Disney).
    The illustrator I am writing to you about is doing my next book, his name is Mike Swaim, he lives in Norcross Ga. He’s fantastic, you can see his work http://www.mikeswaim.com
    Kind Regards
    Jo Shepherd Ripley

  7. April 23, 2010 7:11 AM

    Great interview. I learned alot about ‘Visual Ambassadors’ ie. Art Reps.
    Really inspired me to continue to pursue illustration work. Thanks.

  8. April 23, 2010 9:51 AM

    Fantastic interview! I’ve been considering looking for an art rep, so this podcast really gave me some things to think about. This podcast lead me to listening to a number of your other podcasts. I look forward to listening and learning from upcoming episodes. Thanks!

  9. April 23, 2010 10:06 AM

    Another great interview, Thomas. It was an interesting complement to the Penelope Dullaghan interview, in which she spoke in some detail about her relationship with this very art rep..

    I was interested (and pleased) to hear Scott’s thoughts on having artists approach him- pleased that he indicated that he was willing/interested in providing feedback- and that is something that I would otherwise have been hesitant to ask for (not wanting to impose, not wanting to burden someone already very busy, etc….I am perhaps too polite?)…

  10. April 24, 2010 1:40 PM

    Great, great interview. Scott’s thinking is extremely savvy, he comes across as likable and yet very business minded. There’s so much good advice in his interview that everyone ought to listen to it again and again. If only all reps were like Scott. His artists are very lucky to be working with him. Kudos to you, Thomas, for bringing his expertise to your podcast series! More please!

    • April 25, 2010 10:14 PM

      Thanks Leif. You can expect to hear more from Scott in the future. Stay tuned!

  11. April 28, 2010 2:49 PM

    what a wonderful podcast Thomas!!! wonderful and great to hear Scott will be back for more podcasts….

    great work!!!

  12. April 29, 2010 2:46 AM

    Really interesting interview. I’m considering approaching an art rep and this has given me a lot to think about. I’m still a bit scared though!

  13. May 11, 2010 4:18 AM

    I stumbled upon this blog out of curiosity of how Mr. Leif Peng’s voice sounds like..that was all…but now..it’s one of the sites that i religiously follow..GREAT PODCASTS!!..i gotta shout it..and thanks to Mr. Peng for the curiosity..great site Mr. James!! kudos!

  14. May 12, 2010 7:14 PM

    I listened to this while working on a project…found it to be very inspiring!

Trackbacks

  1. EFII Podcast Episode 35 – Style with Kevin Cross | Illustrationmundo.com
  2. Open Letter to Art Students Everywhere « Freelancing With Children
  3. Now Represented by Scott Hull Associates « Tim Gough
  4. EFII Podcast Episode 34 – ICON 6 Illustration Conference | Illustrationmundo.com
  5. a girl who creates

Leave a Reply

