Skip to content

Podcast Episode 47 – Marshall Arisman Part 1

August 17, 2010

Episode 47 of the Escape from Illustration Island Podcast features Part 1 of an audio interview with Marshall Arisman. Together we discuss his work as an Illustrator, Fine Artist, and educator. This episode is sponsored by Dripbook.com and Theispot.com.

(UPDATE: You can now listen to Part 2 here.)

Here are links to some of the things mentioned on the show:

Marshall Arisman’s Website
EFII Podcast Episode 45 – When Things Go Wrong
EFII Podcast Episode 20 – Drew Struzan
Maria Piscopo

Related Posts:

Stay up-to-date with future Illustration resources via email, Facebook, and Twitter.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2010 5:40 AM

    I’m listening to this now and just LOVE it. Every time I hear these interviews and hear the things that they say (they being art directors and successful illustrators) I realize why I’m doing so well. I’m already doing the things they talk about. I’m not saying this to brag but to just say that if you (and I don’t mean you Thomas) listen to what these people say and take in what will work for you then chances are if you’re talented, you are genuine and real then you’ll be successful.
    When Marshall said that he can appreciate skill and talent but if there’s no content in the image then he can’t see the illustrator in it. I think that that comes with being yourself but mostly KNOWING yourself. Be 100% genuine. The best compliment I got once was from a teacher in art school. He said “You look like your work.”
    Sorry for the tangent.
    Thomas you must and I mean must keep doing this site. You are doing such a giant service to the rest of the illustration community.
    Thank you.
    MB

  2. August 17, 2010 7:48 AM

    Great job! Marshall is the master,( glad you took my suggestion.) I knew he would not disappoint.
    Keep up the wonderful work.

  3. August 17, 2010 4:00 PM

    Great interview as always, I can’t wait for part two! I had the good fortune to hear Marshall Arisman speak at a recent illustration conference in NYC, truly such a generous and inspiring person.
    Maybe everyone would like to share their “lists”?
    I’m still thinking about mine, and am surprised how difficult it is to pinpoint the things I really “know”. Maybe that’s just me though.

    Thanks again Thomas, for providing a steady stream of information and inspiration.

  4. August 19, 2010 5:33 PM

    Thank you Thomas. This is a wonderful interview with one of my illustration heroes.
    I was in art school in the early 1980’s and remember looking at illustration annuals in the library. Two artists i swooned over were Brad Holland and Marshall Arisman. Their illustrations always stood apart from the rest. Amazing timeless work.

    At the same my dad was subscribing to Time magazine (delivered by first post) so i would get my Marshall Arisman fix at breakfast!

    Thanks once again Thomas.

    • August 21, 2010 12:39 AM

      Thanks Eddy. I’ve actually spoken with Brad Holland several times about having him on the show as well, but so far it has fallen through. One of these days…

  5. February 23, 2011 9:40 AM

    That was a wonderful interview bring on part two . I am learning a lot about the history of American illustrators and attitude towards illustration through the show. It is enlightening to hear these giants of illustration come on and humanize our industry which seems to be at times promoting fear of failure( which as Marshall says helps us learn more) and ultra conservative, stiff ling attitude to our creative process.

    Thanks again Thomas

Trackbacks

  1. Visual Arts Briefs » Blog Archive » In The Press: Marshall Arisman on Escape From Illustration Island
  2. EFII Podcast Episode 48 – Marshall Arisman Part 2
  3. All rain and no spray make Tiffy a dull girl « Acrylic Paint in my Hair
  4. eatsleepdraw feature and thoughts on “(Illustration) Style” | Jardwork
  5. Mokturtle.net | The Hermetic Garage
  6. Mokturtle.net | The Hermetic Garage

Leave a Reply

