Skip to content

Video: The ULTIMATE Secret to Extreme Motivation for Freelancers?

January 7, 2011

If you follow the advice in this video, you’ll never have trouble staying motivated again. Or will you?

Related Posts:

Stay up-to-date with future Illustration resources via email, Facebook, and Twitter.

37 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2011 1:25 AM

    LOL! Really loved this!

  2. January 7, 2011 4:19 AM

    This is one of the best post for the new year. Thank you for this Thomas, I’m in the same boat.

  3. January 7, 2011 5:14 AM

    Haha…great video and tip :) Thanks for sharing and your kids are adorable! Perhaps it’ll sounds a bit lighter if we said something like “responsibility” motivates us to do all that we can do…although many great people have ruled in fear for many many years without problems…whatever works!

    • January 7, 2011 9:03 AM

      Very true, responsibility is another good way of saying it, or obligation, although there’ something about having kids that goes beyond those words, which can be very motivating. Believe it or not, I get tons more done now that I have kids than I did before. I think I just take things more seriously. Not to mention, I guard my freelance life much more fiercely now as well because I can’t imagine not being able to be home with them.

  4. January 7, 2011 5:49 AM

    Haha your post is so funny!! (and true!) Nothing beat the fear of “not providing” for our kids. It’s visceral!!! And as Linda said, we can also call it “responsibility”. :) Great post and great looking kids!

  5. January 7, 2011 6:19 AM

    Very funny:) Nothng like cute kids to motivate you. Point well taken.

  6. January 7, 2011 6:55 AM

    Your kids are your best investment. Owning your own business, I suggest a good life insurance policy.

  7. January 7, 2011 7:31 AM

    Excellent post Thomas! And very true!! ^.^

  8. January 7, 2011 8:20 AM

    Too funny and too true, I can relate-I’ve got twins too!

  9. January 7, 2011 9:05 AM

    Thanks for the kind feedback, everyone. I want to do more posts like this in the future, where I cover certain topics with a little more humor and levity. Glad you enjoyed it.

  10. January 7, 2011 9:27 AM

    This is cute, I love the humour here! Thanks for sharing!

  11. January 7, 2011 10:30 AM

    Love this video.

    Fear, responsibility, ect..kids bring it to the fore front for sure.
    We have two girls, 6 and 8. Couldn’t think of anything I wouldn’t do for them. :-)

    Lisa G.

  12. January 7, 2011 10:55 AM

    Such a great video (not to mention your twins are adorable). I don’t plan on having any kids any time soon, but with my husband in school I definitely feel the fear of needing to pay bills.

    You’re doing a great job!

  13. January 7, 2011 11:02 AM

    Nice video!

  14. January 7, 2011 11:15 AM

    FEAR! Brother you said it! Awesome video!!!!

  15. diandramae permalink
    January 7, 2011 11:18 AM

    This was hilarious, and oh so true! While we don’t rely on my freelancing for financial support, I have never been so organized, motivated or determined until I had my kids. I’ve gotten more accomplished with them around than in all the summers off I had as a teacher. Great video, Thomas!

  16. January 7, 2011 11:46 AM

    Ha Ha Ha Ha. Adorable kids. I like the idea of using fear as a motivator just not sure about having kids. But I’ll use the fear of living on the streets thing. Thanks again. So good.

    • January 7, 2011 12:47 PM

      Thanks Michael. Perhaps a dog or a fishtank might be more up your alley? Or an addiction to potato chips? It’s a customizable approach.

  17. January 7, 2011 12:34 PM

    HA! Exactly!!! Great video! I’ve got too of my own and haven’t slept in years! :o)

    Thanks for the reminder!!

    ~Ray

  18. January 7, 2011 2:32 PM

    Hi Thomas! This is exactly what I feel! In fact I myself is a father of twin rambunctious boys! Thanks for the post. Cheers!:)

  19. January 7, 2011 2:43 PM

    LOL! Great one! Loved it! Gorgeous kids, by the way. Although it’s meant for entertainment, I can tell you, from experience, that “fear” isn’t that far off the mark… and, there’s always mortgages, car payments, etc., if you don’t have kids. Fear is good.

    • January 8, 2011 2:44 AM

      Yes, while it’s meant for entertainment, there’s definitely some truth to it. Thanks! The girls definitely stole the show.

  20. January 7, 2011 4:30 PM

    I’m halfway there.
    Excellent advice, Thomas!

  21. January 7, 2011 10:12 PM

    Loved this…..this was really cute!!!!

  22. January 7, 2011 10:26 PM

    Haha! Gold!
    Your kids are gorgeous Thomas :)

  23. January 7, 2011 10:58 PM

    It comes down to focus, organization, and motivation. I’ve got four kids and 2 dogs, but I’m not any more driven to work than when I had no kids or if I had 10 kids.

    What I do know is that I tend to take care of my family’s needs before my own, so the added distraction makes it a challenge to be productive.

  24. January 8, 2011 8:35 AM

    LOL, totally agree!

  25. January 8, 2011 1:16 PM

    Thomas, this post was so great! And soooo true!!!

    I have 4 kids (thankfully not quads) all 2 yrs apart, and it is sometimes crazy around here! And what you say is so true, kids motivate like nothing esle…hubby and I are already queezy about university-AHHHH!
    And being a stay-at-home mom for the last 9 years has made me want to find a career that will give me the flexability to still be involved at the kids’ school, be home when they get home etc. I am really lucky to have a supportive family that has encouraged me to follow my dream of becoming an Illustrator and to be able to work from home.

    Your twins are adorable! And the fun they will have, and the mistchief they will get into..gosh!. I am a twim myself, your fear is totally justified-heehee, so my advice to you is: grow eyes on the back of your head!!

    Happy 2011 and I look forward to all the new, amazing post of EFII

    • January 8, 2011 2:45 PM

      Thanks Suzanne. They’re already giving me a run for my money, even though they are deceptively tame in the video. I think I also mentioned in an earlier comment that I surprisingly get a lot more done now since having kids, because there’s so much more at stake now. Good to hear from someone who has been in the trenches much longer than I have.

  26. January 8, 2011 6:41 PM

    Thomas, this post has made my day! Fact and funny for sure.
    Kids are not in my near future (at least not planned ones) but I can relate to the idea of fear!
    Thanks for the laugh.

    PS. Emma and Olivia are gorgeous.

    • January 9, 2011 10:02 PM

      Thanks very much. Glad you enjoyed it. The girls were definitely the real stars of this one.

  27. January 9, 2011 12:55 AM

    Great video! I have 3 boys and a wife who can no longer teach school due to an illness. I know the fear you speak of. It’s always threatens to knock at your back door. Since my wife stopped working I’ve been putting in 80hr plus work weeks. I’m ashamed to admit it but I worked over the holidays. In this economy you have to take what comes. I love my work – but I can’t stop the long hours until we have more cushion.

    Your kids are really cute – cherish them at this age – my youngest is 11 and won’t let me hug him in public any more. It happens really quick.

    Will

    • January 9, 2011 10:01 PM

      Thanks Will. I worked a little during the holidays as well, although I tried not to. Best of luck building a cushion this year.

  28. Bill Bonner permalink
    January 10, 2011 9:45 AM

    Great Video! Cute and original! Alas… my kids have ‘flown the nest.’ I guess I am doomed to having ‘no fear.’ (Oh yeah… there’s that retirement thingy!)

  29. January 13, 2011 4:05 PM

    Hilarious! Maybe that’s my problem… No kids and I don’t own a home. However, when I recently had a scare that I’d have to replace my car with 180K+ miles, that really helped my motivation : )

  30. January 27, 2011 11:12 AM

    Thanks m8 for this video ! this is realy great!
    Wish you all the best guys! with <3

Leave a Reply

