Skip to content

EFII Podcast Episode 72 – Charles Hively of 3X3

February 22, 2011

Episode 72 of the Escape from Illustration Island Podcast features an audio interview with Charles Hively, Creative Director of 3X3 and Creative Quarterly. Together we discuss his thoughts on promotion, competitions, and the virtues of running an effective creative business.  

Here are links to some of the things mentioned on the show:


13 Comments leave one →
  1. sketch permalink
    February 22, 2011 1:47 PM

    I was just checking out the 3×3 website and apparently the site is infected by malware. Trend Micro popped up a warning when I opened the page.

  2. February 22, 2011 5:20 PM

    Great interview! I enjoyed hearing about what Charles said about websites, but I’m not sure about -not- having an about page. I’m all for not telling your whole life story, but I think it’s good to have a bit about yourself for non-art directors; fans, fellow illustrators, or just people interested in your work who may visit your website to actually find out more about you.

    Thanks again for another great podcast!

  3. February 22, 2011 6:54 PM

    I got a malware error as well with that link. Great interview though.

  4. February 22, 2011 9:03 PM

    I agree with Melanie on the about page topic and truly don’t see the harm in adding a slightly personal touch. It’s true that no one wants to read your entire life story, so keep it brief. But the fact is that illustrators have to promote themselves to so many different audiences (not solely art directors) that having the about page is necessary.

    However, I loved his very candid approach to giving advice. I definitely feel motivated to do my research a send out more personal promos. (and – I’m glad I never sent out those Christmas cards last year! Whew!)

  5. February 23, 2011 7:45 AM

    Just wanted to say that the website is up and running. So please go ahead and visit us.
    Thanks
    Sarah Munt

  6. Catalin Cimpanu permalink
    February 24, 2011 5:25 AM

    I love this guy!!! He nailed it on the portfolio sites.
    The Cargo Collective portfolio sites are probably the best fit for a portfolio.

  7. February 24, 2011 11:56 AM

    Terrific talk! Love Charles’ work for illustration. Thanks so much for the podcast!

  8. March 4, 2011 9:52 AM

    Another great podcast. Lots of stuff to think about.
    Thanks!

  9. March 14, 2011 9:55 AM

    I really enjoyed this interview with Charles Hively. Full of very helpful advise.

    Thanks

  10. Nate Williams permalink
    March 25, 2011 3:17 PM

    Great Interview !

  11. MJC permalink
    September 26, 2011 1:48 PM

    The part where Charles talks about how often photographers are promoting themselves versus illustrators is interesting. I want to share my point of view.
    First: I think that it’s much easier for photographers to promote, because they can make A LOT of photo’s in a short amount of time. It depends on your style of course and how much you change things in Photoshop but I think that there production level is often time much higher than an illustrator. So it’s easy to promote yourself more, because you have so many images to choose from. As an illustrator…you can make a couple of illustrations a month. For me it’s something around 4 illustrations? Those illustrations has to be ‘perfect’ for promotion. That’s quite difficult to begin with.

    Second: As an illustrator you have an obvious style. So it’s easier to promote photography because you can use one portfolio for many different markets. But if you’re specializing in children, fashion, business illustration to name a few, you have less prospects. I would love to promote my fashion illustrations but right now I’m making an book cover illustration, so I can’t use it for promotion. After this I’m making a wallpainting. That pays the bills but I can’t use it for promotion!

    For my photographer friends it’s much easier to promote in public and invite someone to a lunch! Why? Because they go to an event where they are taking photo’s. They automaticly talk with different persons because they’re walking around with a camera. And of course you get more jobs out of that. What is an illustrator supposed to do? Walk around with pencils and brushes? You can’t do that as an illustrator!

    I also think that the investment for illustrators is taken lightly. I also paid for my macbook, my cintiq, my camera (to photograph your art) a lighttable, an all in one printer, scanner, fax, all my materials to paint, wood, and last but not least: a creative suite. Besides that, I invested years to devellop my style and skills. I think a lot of us are drawing since we were little. That’s also investment.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention EFII Podcast Episode 72 – Charles Hively of 3X3 « Escape From Illustration Island – Illustration Resources and Community -- Topsy.com
  2. Morgan Gaynin Inc. Illustration Representatives

Leave a Reply

